Outstanding Student Award

Outstanding Student Award

Each year the sociology department faculty chooses a graduating senior sociology major to receive the American Sociological Association’s Departmental Prize for Outstanding Student.  The recipient of this award is recognized for their outstanding academic achievement at the campus-wide May awards ceremony that takes place during Commencement weekend.  The student’s name is placed on the department plaque which is displayed prominently in the Sociology Department.

The following are some of the factors the department considers in selecting the awardee:

  • overall and sociology GPA
  • participation in the Honors Program
  • involvement in class
  • research fellowships or awards
  • reading or publishing papers at conferences
  • graduate/professional school plans


Class of 2018 Winner:  Hannah Hulshult


Hannah graduated from Wake Forest University with a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology with a concentration in health and well-being, as well as minors in both Biology and Chemistry. In addition to these study areas, she completed the pre-requisites for medical school, with the intention of becoming a practicing physician.  During her senior year, Hannah received a Fulbright-Nehru Research Scholarship to conduct a public health research project in Karnataka, India, examining the social determinants of health (specifically tuberculosis) in the area, using in-depth interviews with locals, physicians, and public health officials.



Previous Winners

Callie Cleckner (2017)
Nicole Capobianco (2016)
Dianne Uwayo (2015)
Leigh Winters (2015)
Shannon Ciprut (2014)
Erin Hellman (2014)
Danielle Ambrogio (2014, honorable mention)
Chloe Potash (2014, honorable mention)
Gurdeep Singh (2014, honorable mention)
John Brigagliano (2013)
Christina Bonner (2013, honorable mention)
Lacey McKinney (2013, honorable mention)
Molly Mitzner (2013, honorable mention)
Michael Robinson (2012)
Adrienne Alexander Coronado (2011)
Ava Petrash (2011)
Hannah E. Rothman (2010)
Leek A. Deng (2010)
Jameal Addison (2009)
Jordan Matevich (2009)
Marianne Wilson (2008)
Benny Levi Cooper (2008)
Benjamin T. Sinclair (2007)
Adam D. Abelkop (2007)
Shaughnessy O’Brien (2006)
Anjali Garg (2005)
Larisa Inga Freeburg (2004)
Meredith Anne Carroll (2003)
Tim Kennery (2002)
Jackie Shock (2001)
Carol Cooley (2001)
Amanda Pruitt (2000)
Andrea Morrison (1999)
Staci Schwartz (1998)