Each year the sociology department faculty chooses a graduating senior sociology major to receive the American Sociological Association’s Departmental Prize for Outstanding Student.  The recipient of this award is recognized for their outstanding academic achievement at the campus-wide May awards ceremony that takes place during Commencement weekend.  The student’s name is placed on the department plaque which is displayed prominently in the Sociology Department.

The following are some of the factors the department considers in selecting the awardee:

  • overall and sociology GPA
  • participation in the Honors Program
  • involvement in class
  • research fellowships or awards
  • reading or publishing papers at conferences
  • graduate/professional school plans

Class of 2023 Winner:  Liana Nicole Hutton

Previous Winners

Bridget Idzik (2022)
Hannah DeMaioNewton (2022)
Mark Zhongze Wei (2022)

Shosi Hansen (2021)
Frantasia Hill (2021)

Alexander Holt (2020)
Alice Romanov (2020

Frida Islas Valdez (2019)

Hannah Hulshult (2018)

Callie Cleckner (2017)

Nicole Capobianco (2016)

Dianne Uwayo (2015)
Leigh Winters (2015)

Shannon Ciprut (2014)
Erin Hellman (2014)
Danielle Ambrogio (2014, honorable mention)
Chloe Potash (2014, honorable mention)
Gurdeep Singh (2014, honorable mention)

John Brigagliano (2013)
Christina Bonner (2013, honorable mention)
Lacey McKinney (2013, honorable mention)
Molly Mitzner (2013, honorable mention)

Michael Robinson (2012)

Adrienne Alexander Coronado (2011)
Ava Petrash (2011)

Hannah E. Rothman (2010)
Leek A. Deng (2010)

Jameal Addison (2009)
Jordan Matevich (2009)

Marianne Wilson (2008)
Benny Levi Cooper (2008)

Benjamin T. Sinclair (2007)
Adam D. Abelkop (2007)

Shaughnessy O’Brien (2006)

Anjali Garg (2005)

Larisa Inga Freeburg (2004)

Meredith Anne Carroll (2003)

Tim Kennery (2002)

Jackie Shock (2001)
Carol Cooley (2001)

Amanda Pruitt (2000)

Andrea Morrison (1999)

Staci Schwartz (1998)